Skip to main content

Occupational Safety and Health and Working Environment

Title VX
Occupational Safety and Health and Working Environment

Article 166

The employer undertakes to provide the means of occupational safety and health at the workplaces in such a way as to ensure prevention from work hazards, in particular the following hazards:

  1. Mechanical hazards arising as a result of a collision or contact between the worker’s body and a solid object, such as construction, building and excavation hazards, collapse and fall hazards, and hazards arising from devices, machines and transportation and handling means.
  2. Hazards arising from handling solid, liquid or gas chemical substances or arising from the leakage of such substances to the working environment.
  3. Natural hazards affecting the worker’s safety and health as a result of a natural hazard or damage such as heat, humidity, cold, noise, dangerous and harmful radiations, quakes or the high or low atmospheric pressure in the workplace.
  4. Hazards arising from the unavailability of means of safety, rescue, first aid and hygiene or the like and hazards arising from nutrition in cases where the employer is bound by virtue of the law to provide nutrition.
  5. Fire hazards and hazards arising from electricity and lighting.

Article 167

The establishments determined by virtue of the Minister’s decision in coordination with the Minister in charge of industrial affairs shall assess and analyze the expected industrial and natural hazards and disasters and draft an emergency plan to protect these establishments and the workers therein upon the occurrence of any disaster, provided the efficacy of this plan is tested in order to ascertain its adequacy and the workers are trained on said plan.
The abovementioned establishments shall notify the Ministry of this emergency plan drafted by them with any modifications thereto.


Article 168

The employer or his representative shall inform the worker of the work hazards and the means of prevention he must abide by, provide him with the personal prevention means and train him on using them.


Article 169

The employer shall not make the worker bear any expenses or deduct from the latter’s wage any amounts for the provision of the necessary means of prevention against work hazards.


Article 170

The worker must use the means of occupational safety and health and diligently preserve the ones under his possession. He must execute the instructions set forth in order to preserve his health and avoid working hazards. The worker shall not commit any act that may disrupt or destroy any of these means or prevent or hinder their use and shall not misuse them.


Article 171

Subject to the provisions of the Law on Social Insurance, the employer must:

  1. Subject the worker before his engagement in the work to the preliminary medical examination in order to ascertain his health, physical, mental and moral safety and fitness in line with the nature of the work entrusted to him.
  2. Subject the workers sustaining an occupational disease to periodical medical examination in order to verify whether they still enjoy their health fitness and to discover any disease they may have contractedat its early stages, in accordance with the regulation issued by virtue of the decision of the Minister of Health in agreement with the Minister.
  3. Provide his workers with the means of medical aids and with the treatment of emergency cases in accordance with the regulation issued by virtue of the decision of the Minister of Health in agreement with the Minister.
  4. Prepare a medical file for each worker clarifying in particular, any development in terms of the worker health situation, the procedures of his treatment, the types of regular and occupational diseases and work injuries, the degrees of disability if any as well as the period of absence of the worker due to illness.

Article 172

The employer undertakes to provide the basic health care for his workers, regardless of their number, in accordance with the regulation issued by virtue of a decision of the Minister of Health in agreement with the Minister.


Article 173

Without prejudice to the provisions of Title XVI of this Law, the Ministry shall:

  1. Create an authority denominated “The Authority of occupational safety and health inspection” formed of a sufficient number of inspectors enjoying qualifications and suitable experience, which shall be in charge of carrying out periodical inspection over the establishments to verify their implementation of the provisions of this Title.
    The Minister shall issue a decision on the formation of this Authority and the organization of its work.
  2. Provide the Authority of occupational safety and health inspection with all what is required for its fulfillment of its mission, including equipment and measuring devices.
  3. Organize qualitative and specialized training sessions and programs to improve the competence of the members of the Inspection Staff and the level of their performance and to provide them with the necessary technical experiences to guarantee the best occupational safety and health levels.

Article 174

a) The Authority of occupational safety and health inspection shall:

  1. Subject the workers at the establishments to the necessary medical and labouratory tests for verifying the adequacy of the working conditions and their effect on the worker’s health and prevention level.
  2. Take samples from the substances used or handled in industrial operations which may have a harmful effect on the workers’ safety and health or on the working environment for their analysis in order to determine the extent the hazards arising from the use of said substances, provided the establishment is notified in this respect.
  3. Use the devices and equipment necessary for the analysis of the causes of occupational accidents.
  4. Peruse the results of the technical and administrative reports incoming to the establishment about serious accidents and their causes.
  5. Peruse the emergency plan and hazards analysis of the establishment.
  6. Execute any other mission entrusted to the Authority by virtue of the Minister’s decision.

b) The Minister in charge of the Commercial Register, based on the report of the Authority of occupational safety and health inspection shall order the partial or total administrative closing of the establishment, the interruption of a specific work or the use of one or more machine in case of imminent danger threatening the establishment or the safety or health of the workers in it, or in case the establishment failed to draft an emergency plan in accordance with the provision of Article 167 of this Law, until the elimination of the danger or the drafting of said plan.

c) The Authority of occupational safety and health inspection shall draft an annual report on its activities including in particular, a statement of the establishments subject to inspection, the number of workers therein, the inspection visits made by inspectors, violations, imposed sanctions, and the discovered work injuries and occupational disease.

The Ministry shall publish this report in any appropriate manner ensuring its public perusal, within three years as of the end of the year.


Article 175

A Council of Occupational Safety and Health shall be created and shall be in charge of drafting and following-up on the implementation of general policies in terms of occupational safety and health and the provision of the appropriate working environment.
This Council shall be presided over by the Minister and a number of members representing the related administrative authorities, the Bahrain Chamber of Commerce and Industry and the General Confederation Workers Trade Unions in Bahrain, as well as the experienced parties in terms of occupational safety and health and the working environment.
The Prime Minister shall issue a decision on the formation of this Council and the organization of its work.
Subcommittees for occupational health and safety shall be established by virtue of the Council’s decision in the economic and industrial sectors specified in said decision, provided each subcommittee includes among its members representative of the related parties. The Council shall set the powers and the rules governing the work of these subcommittees.


Article 176

The establishment employing fifty workers or more shall provide its workers with the necessary social and cultural services in agreement with the trade union if any or the workers’ representatives. The competent Minister shall issue a decision in agreement with the General Confederation Workers Trade Unions in Bahrain on the determination of these services and their extent that must be provided.

Last Update: Wednesday 19 August 2015

انتقل إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
Crown Prince Website

السلامة والصحة المهنية وبيئة العمل

الباب الخامس عشر
السلامة والصحة المهنية وبيئة العمل

المادة (166)

يلتزم صاحب العمل بتوفير وسائل السلامة والصحة المهنية في أماكن العمل على نحو يكفل الوقاية من مخاطر العمل وعلى الأخص المخاطر التالية:

  1. المخاطر الميكانيكية التي تنشأ نتيجة الاصطدام أو الاتصال بين جسم العامل وبين جسم صلب مثل مخاطر أعمال التشييد والبناء والحفر ومخاطر الانهيار والسقوط والمخاطر الناشئة عن الأجهزة والآلات ووسائل الانتقال والتداول.
  2. المخاطر الناتجة عن التعامل مع المواد الكيميائية، صلبة أو سائلة أو غازية، أو الناتجة عن تسرب هذه المواد إلى بيئة العمل.
  3. المخاطر الطبيعية التي تؤثر على سلامة العامل وصحته نتيجة خطر أو ضرر طبيعي مثل الحرارة أو الرطوبة أو البرودة أو الضوضاء أو الإشعاعات الضارة أو الخطرة أو الاهتزازات أو زيادة الضغط الجوي الذي يتم فيه العمل أو نقصه.
  4. المخاطر الناشئة عن عدم توافر وسائل الأمان أو الإنقاذ أو الإسعاف أو النظافة أو ما يماثلها، أو التغذية في الحالات التي يلتزم فيها صاحب العمل قانوناً بذلك.
  5. مخاطر الحريق والمخاطر الناشئة عن الكهرباء أو الإضاءة.

ويجب على صاحب العمل أن يضع بشكل ظاهر في مكان العمل الإرشادات والتوجيهات والملصقات وغيرها من وسائل الإيضاح المتعلقة بمخاطر العمل وأساليب الوقاية منها.
ويصدر الوزير، بعد أخذ رأي الجهات المعنية، قراراً بتحديد الشروط والاحتياطات اللازمة للوقاية من مخاطر العمل.


المادة (167)

يجب على المنشآت، التي يصدر بتحديدها قرار من الوزير بالتنسيق مع الوزير المختص بشؤون الصناعة، أن تقوم بإجراء تقييم وتحليل للمخاطر والكوارث الصناعية والطبيعية المتوقعة وإعداد خطة طوارئ لحماية هذه المنشآت والعاملين فيها عند وقوع أية كارثة، على أن يتم اختبار فاعلية هذه الخطة للتحقق من كفاءتها وتدريب العمال على التعامل معها.
وعلى المنشآت المشار إليها إبلاغ الوزارة بخطة الطوارئ التي أعدتها وبما يطرأ عليها من تعديلات.


المادة (168)

يجب على صاحب العمل أو من يمثله أن يحيط العامل بمخاطر العمل ووسائل الوقاية الواجب عليه مراعاتها وأن يوفر له وسائل الوقاية الشخصية وتدريبه على استخدامها.


المادة (169)

يحظر على صاحب العمل تحميل العامل أية نفقات أو يقتطع من أجره أية مبالغ لقاء توفير وسائل الحماية اللازمة له ضد مخاطر العمل.


المادة (170)

يجب على العامل استعمال وسائل السلامة والصحة المهنية، وأن يحافظ بعناية على ما بحوزته منها، وأن ينفذ التعليمات الموضوعة للمحافظة على صحته ووقايته من مخاطر العمل، وألا يرتكب ما من شأنه تعطيل أو إتلاف تلك الوسائل أو منع أو إعاقة أو إساءة استخدامها.


المادة (171)

مع مراعاة أحكام قانون التأمين الاجتماعي، يجب على صاحب العمل ما يلي:

  1. إجراء الفحص الطبي الابتدائي على العامل قبل التحاقه بالعمل للتحقق من سلامته ولياقته الصحية والبدنية والعقلية والنفسية وفقاً لطبيعة العمل الذي يسند إليه.
  2. إجراء الفحص الطبي الدوري للعمال المعرضين للإصابة بالأمراض المهنية للتحقق من استمرار لياقتهم الصحية واكتشاف ما قد يظهر عليهم من أمراض في مراحلها الأولى، طبقاً للنظام الذي يصدر بتحديده قرار من وزير الصحة بالاتفاق مع الوزير.
  3. أن يوفر لعماله وسائل الإسعافات الطبية وعلاج الحالات الطارئة طبقاً للنظام الذي يصدر بتحديده قرار من وزير الصحة بالاتفاق مع الوزير.
  4. إعداد ملف طبي لكل عامل يوضح، على الأخص، ما قد يطرأ من تطور على حالته الصحية وإجراءات علاجه وأنواع الأمراض العادية والمهنية وإصابات العمل ودرجات العجز إن وجدت، ومدد غياب العامل عن عمله بسبب المرض.

المادة (172)

يلتزم صاحب العمل بتوفير الرعاية الصحية الأساسية لعماله، أياً كان عددهم، طبقاً للنظام الذي يصدر بتحديده قرار من وزير الصحة بالاتفاق مع الوزير.


المادة (173)

مع عدم الإخلال بأحكام الباب السادس عشر من هذا القانون، تتولى الوزارة ما يلي:

  1. إنشاء جهاز يسمى " جهاز تفتيش السلامة والصحة المهنية " ويشكل من عدد كاف ٍ من ذوي التأهيل العلمي والخبرة المناسبة، ويتولى التفتيش بصفة دورية على المنشآت للتحقق من تنفيذ أحكام هذا الباب. ويصدر بتشكيل هذا الجهاز وتنظيم عمله قرار من الوزير.
  2. تزويد جهاز تفتيش السلامة والصحة المهنية بكل ما يلزم لقيامه بمهامه، بما في ذلك الأجهزة ومعدات القياس.
  3. تنظيم دورات وبرامج تدريبية نوعية ومتخصصة لرفع كفاءة أفراد جهاز التفتيش ومستوى أدائهم وتزويدهم بالخبرات الفنية اللازمة لضمان أفضل مستويات الصحة والسلامة المهنية.

المادة (174)

أ) يتولى جهاز تفتيش السلامة والصحة المهنية القيام بما يلي:

  1. إجراء الفحوص الطبية والمعملية اللازمة على العمال بالمنشآت للتحقق من ملاءمة ظروف العمل ومدى تأثيرها على المستوى الصحي والوقائي للعمال.
  2. أخذ عينات من المواد المستعملة أو المتداولة في العمليات الصناعية والتي قد يكون لها تأثير ضار على سلامة العمال وصحتهم أو بيئة العمل وذلك بغرض تحليلها لمعرفة مدى الأخطار الناجمة عن استعمالها، على أن يتم إخطار المنشأة بذلك.
  3. استخدام الأجهزة والمعدات اللازمة لتحليل أسباب الحوادث المهنية.
  4. الاطلاع على نتائج التقارير الفنية والإدارية التي ترد إلى المنشأة عن الحوادث الجسيمة والأسباب المؤدية إليها.
  5. الاطلاع على خطة الطوارئ وتحليل المخاطر الخاصة بالمنشأة.
  6. أية مهام أخرى يصدر بإسنادها إلى الجهاز قرار من الوزير.

ب) يجوز للوزير المعني بالسجل التجاري، بناءً على تقارير جهاز تفتيش السلامة والصحة المهنية، أن يأمر بغلق المنشأة بالطريق الإداري، كلياً أو جزئياً، أو بوقف عمل معين أو آلة أو أكثر عن التشغيل في حالة وجود خطر داهم يهدد المنشأة أو سلامة العمال بها أو صحتهم أو في حالة عدم قيام المنشأة بإعداد خطة طوارئ طبقاً لحكم المادة (167) من هذا القانون، وذلك إلى أن يزول الخطر أو يتم إعداد تلك الخطة. ويجوز للوزارة أن تقوم بإزالة أسباب الخطر بالطريق الإداري على نفقة المنشأة.

ج) يعد جهاز تفتيش السلامة والصحة المهنية تقريراً سنوياً بشأن أعماله يتضمن، بوجه خاص، بياناً بالمنشآت الخاضعة للتفتيش وعدد العمال فيها وزيارات التفتيش التي قام بها المفتشون والمخالفات والجزاءات التي وقعت وإصابات العمل وأمراض المهنة التي تكشفت.

وتتولى الوزارة نشر هذا التقرير بأية وسيلة مناسبة تكفل الاطلاع عليه من قبل الكافة، وذلك خلال ثلاثة أشهر من انتهاء السنة.


المادة (175)

ينشأ مجلس للسلامة والصحة المهنية يتولى رسم ومتابعة تنفيذ السياسة العامة في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية وتأمين بيئة العمل.
ويشكل هذا المجلس برئاسة الوزير وعدد من الأعضاء يمثلون الجهات الإدارية ذات العلاقة وغرفة تجارة وصناعة البحرين والاتحاد العام لنقابات عمال البحرين وذوي الخبرة في مجال السلامة والصحة المهنية وبيئة العمل.
ويصدر بتشكيل هذا المجلس وتنظيم عمله قرار من رئيس مجلس الوزراء.
ويجوز للمجلس بقرار منه تشكيل لجان فرعية للسلامة والصحة المهنية في القطاعات الاقتصادية والصناعية التي يحددها، على أن تضم كل لجنة في عضويتها ممثلين عن الجهات ذات العلاقة، ويحدد المجلس اختصاصات هذه اللجان والقواعد المنظمة لعملها.


المادة (176)

تلتزم المنشأة التي يعمل بها خمسون عاملاً فأكثر بتقديم الخدمات الاجتماعية والثقافية اللازمة لعمالها بالاتفاق مع المنظمة النقابية إن وجدت أو مع ممثلي العمال. ويصدر قرار من الوزير المختص بالاتفاق مع الاتحاد العام لنقابات عمال البحرين بتحديد هذه الخدمات والقدر اللازم توفره منها.

آخر تحديث: 19-08-2015