Skip to main content
Crown Prince Website

Price Survey Report

Introduction

This survey was undertaken by the Policy Development Department of LMRA. The survey was aimed to serve as an alert for price changes in consumer products that were expected to result from introducing the labour fees on expatriate labour employers. The survey's time frame spans from November 2006 to June 2009. The results were published in the LMRA's quarterly newsletter for labour market indicators starting from Q3 2007 and ending at Q2 2009.

This link presents you with the survey report that was authored by the data gathering team at that time.

The Report

The LMRA's Policy Development Department has undertaken conducting a simple survey to serve in alerting the changes in consumer prices in the Kingdom. This is part of the process of enforcing the provisions of Law No.(19) of 2006 with respect to the Regulation of the Labour Market in which Article 4 about LMRA’s Functions Jurisdictions as follows: “To collate and analyze data and information and statistics related to the economic situation in the Kingdom and in particular the Labour Market, so that the Authority will be the principle source that releases the accurate intelligence and information and statistics related to the Labour Market in the Kingdom. The authority will update and manage this data and information continuously in order to represent the true picture of the economy in the Kingdom. The Authority will prepare a report which will be published in the appropriate media to be determined by the Board in a manner that everyone concerned has access to the reports.” (1) The provisions of Article 42-C of the Decree state: “The Authority prior to proposing any fees must take into consideration the rules and regulations set by this law, and that any change in the fees must be done pursuant to studies and commercial surveys with regards to the impact of these changes in fees on the GDP in the Kingdom, in particular to that which pertains to inflation and the Consumer Price Index.” (2) The above will be achieved through compiling data about the kinds and prices of goods of various sources and markets on a regular monthly basis.

This survey seeks to give a clear and simple picture of the changes in market prices and impact of the new policies in terms of rises and falls to serve as a basis for LMRA’s representatives in adopting new policies and decisions that may have positive or negative effects on the market. Indeed, it will help in investigating their relationship with the Labour Market policies; hence this survey will give a clear picture of the market conditions before and after applying the policies and will serve as an alarm bell in cases of steady and unjustifiable price increases.

This survey will serve as a base for a new index that has been developed by the Policy Development Department for measuring and providing alerts for changes in process. This index is called the Consumer Price Alert (or CPA). The index is designed to monitor and calculate change points in terms of price increases and declines to alert us about the overall situation of consumer prices whose components include the cost of foreign labour. It should be noted that the percentage of foreign labour is relatively high in certain sectors. The most important of these are the small industries sector in which foreign labour represents a very high percentage estimated at 91%, followed by the restaurant and hotel sector with 88%, contracting sector with 84% and the trade exchange sector with 76% (3).

This index is totally different from the Standard Consumer Price Index (Price Basket) which is followed by the Central Informatics Organization. It is also different from the regular monitoring of prices by the Ministry of Industry and Commerce. The Consumer Price Alert does not measure the inflation rate and it is not possible to measure through it. In addition, it is not based upon calculation of the Gross Domestic Product but it is only an alert index to investigate the reasons when the market is affected by the new policies introduced by LMRA, especially the control of the effect arising from the introduction of the new foreign labour fees upon consumer prices.

The difference between the Standard Consumer Price Index and the Consumer Price Alert lies in the fact that the latter depends upon a group of commodities that are likely to be influenced by the labour fees as they are often goods and products that heavily rely in providing them upon foreign manpower. It also differs in its calculation from the Standard Consumer Price Index as it does not depend upon calculating the weight of each commodity.

This survey was undertaken by specialists of the LMRA Policy Development Department and was closely monitored by LMRA analysts, statisticians, researchers and supervisors. We hope that this survey will achieve its objective and will provide useful and valuable information for the policy makers. It is hoped that it will give a clear picture from which we can get the special data and indicators required by analysts and researchers in their work to reflect positively upon the political and economic conditions in the Kingdom. We would like to seize this opportunity to express our thanks and appreciation to everyone who has co-operated with us in the data collection, classification, processing and analysis. The results of this survey are the fruit of the efforts made and the joint co-operation of the LMRA Policy Development Department team.



Labour Market Regulatory Authority

 

(1) Official Gazette- Law(19)- Part1- Article (4)- paragraph (2)- issue 2741 for the year 2006- the 59th year- page 68.
(2) Official Gazette- Law(19)- Part3- Article (42)- paragraph (c)- issue 2741 for the year 2006- the 59th year- page 84.
(3) Rates are taken from the Establishment Survey Data- Establishment Survey- CIO/LMRA- March 2006.

 

Last Update: Sunday 14 May 2017

انتقل إلى المحتوى الرئيسي
Crown Prince Website

تقرير مسح الأسعار

المقدمة

قامت إدارة تطوير السياسيات بهيئة تنظيم سوق العمل بمسح الأسعار للتنبيه عن التغير في الأسعار الإستهلاكية نتيجة لفرض رسوم العمل على مستقدمي العمالة الأجنبية. وتمتد فترة جمع البيانات لهذا المسح من شهر نوفمبر 2006 حتى يونيو 2009، حيث دأبت الهيئة على نشر نتائج المسح في النشرة الفصلية لمؤشرات سوق العمل للفترة الممتدة من الفصل الثالث لعام 2007 حتى الفصل الثاني لعام 2009.

وتجدون في هذا الرابط تقرير المسح الذي أصدره فريق جمع البيانات آنذاك.

التقرير

تأخذ دائرة تطوير السياسات بهيئة تنظيم سوق العمل على عاتقها إجراء عملية مسح مبسط للتنبيه عن التغير في الأسعار الاستهلاكية في المملكة، حرصاً منها بالعمل على تطبيق مواد قانون رقم (19) لسنة 2006 بشأن تنظيم سوق العمل والذي تنص فيه أحكام المادة رقم (4) من مهام وصلاحيات الهيئة " جمع وتحليل البيانات والمعلومات والإحصاءات المتعلقة بالوضع الاقتصادي في المملكة، وخاصة ما يتعلق منها بسوق العمل، بحيث تكون الهيئة مصدراً رئيسياً للبيانات والمعلومات والإحصاءات الدقيقة فيما يخص سوق العمل بالمملكة "(1)، وأحكام المادة (42 - ج) في الرسوم " يجب على الهيئة قبل اقتراح أية رسوم مراعاة الأحكام والإجراءات التي تضمنها هذا القانون، وألا يتم أي تغيير في الرسوم إلا بعد إجراء الدراسات والمسوحات الاقتصادية عن تأثير هذا التغيير على مجمل الوضع الاقتصادي في المملكة، وعلى الأخص تلك المتعلقة بمعدلات التضخم ومؤشرات أسعار المستهلك "(2)؛ وذلك عن طريق جمع البيانات لأنواع وأسعار السلع بمصادرها المختلفة وأسواقها الخاصة بشكل دوري شهرياً.

 يسعى هذا المسح إلى إعطاء صورة مبسطة لتغير أسعار السوق وتأثير السياسات الجديدة من حيث الارتفاع والانخفاض ليكون ركيزة يستند عليها ممثلو هيئة تنظيم سوق العمل في اتخاذ قرارات وسياسات جديدة قد تؤثر سلباً أو إيجاباً على السوق.

كما أنه سيساعدنا في دراسة علاقتها بسياسات سوق العمل، وبالتالي فإن هذا المسح سيعطينا صورة واضحة عن حال السوق قبل وبعد تطبيق السياسات وسيكون بمثابة الإنذار في حالة فرضية الارتفاع المطرد والغير مقبول في الأسعار. إن هذا المسح سيكون قاعدة لحساب مؤشر جديد تم ابتكاره من قبل دائرة تطوير السياسات لقياس التنبيه بتغير الأسعار. وسمي هذا المؤشر بـ (Consumer Price Alert) أي التنبيه بالتغير في الأسعار الاستهلاكية واختصاره (CPA). يهدف هذا المؤشر لمراقبة وحساب نقاط التغير من حيث الارتفاع والانخفاض في الأسعار لكي ينذرنا بالوضع العام لأسعار المواد الاستهلاكية التي تدخل في تركيبتها تكلفة عمالة أجنبية. علماً بأن نسبة العمالة الأجنبية مرتفعة نسبياً في بعض القطاعات. من أهمها قطاع الصناعات الصغيرة الذي تكون فيه نسبة العمالة الأجنبية عالية جداً تقدر بـ(91 %)، يليها قطاع المطاعم والفنادق بنسبة (88 %)، قطاع المقاولات (84 %)، قطاع التبادل التجاري (76 %) . (3)

إن هذا المؤشر مختلف تماماً عن مؤشر الرقم القياسي لأسعار المستهلك (سلة الأسعار) والذي يختص بها الجهاز المركزي للمعلومات، كما أنه يختلف أيضاً عن الرصد الدوري للأسعار من قبل وزارة التجارة.

إن مؤشر "التنبيه بالتغير في الأسعار الاستهلاكية" لا يقيس نسبة التضخم ومن غير الممكن قياسها من خلاله، بالإضافة إلى أنه لا يقوم على أساس حساب الناتج المحلي الإجمالي، وإنما هو مؤشر تنبيهي فقط للبحث عن الأسباب عند تأثر السوق بالسياسات الجديدة المطبقة من قبل هيئة تنظيم سوق العمل وبالأخص مراقبة تأثير تطبيق رسوم العمالة الأجنبية الجديدة على الأسعار الاستهلاكية. يتجلى الفرق بين مؤشر "الرقم القياسي لأسعار المستهلك" ومؤشر " التنبيه بالتغير في الأسعار الاستهلاكية"، في أن الأخير يعتمد على مجموعة من السلع التي من المحتمل أن تتأثر برسوم العمالة وغالباً ما تكون سلع وخدمات يعتمد في توفيرها وتقديمها اعتماداً كبيراً على العمالة الأجنبية. كما أنه يختلف كذلك في طريقة حسابه عن مؤشر "الرقم القياسي لأسعار المستهلك"، فهو لا يعتمد حساب الثقل النوعي لكل سلعة.

قام بهذا العمل أخصائيون من دائرة تطوير السياسات بهيئة تنظيم سوق العمل وقد تمت متابعته من خلال عملهم الدؤوب والمشترك بين محللين وإحصائيين وباحثين ومشرفين على العمل من داخل الهيئة. نأمل أن يحقق هذا المسح غايته المنشودة، وأن يضيف معلومات قيمة ومفيدة لصنع ودعم السياسات، وأن يعطي صفة مبسطة نستخلص منها البيانات والمؤشرات الخاصة التي يحتاجها المحللين والباحثين في عملهم لينعكس إيجاباً على الوضع السياسي والاقتصادي بالمملكة. بهذا ننتهز الفرصة لتقديم جزيل الشكر والامتنان لجميع من سعى وتعاون معنا في جمع البيانات وتصنيفها ومعالجتها وتحليلها. وإنما نتائج هذا المسح لهي ثمرة الجهود المبذولة والتعاون المشترك بين طاقم فريق دائرة تطوير السياسات بهيئة تنظيم سوق العمل.

 ونسأل الله السداد والتوفيق..،

إدارة هيئة تنظيم سوق العمل

1) الجريدة الرسمية- قانون رقم (19) – الباب الأول – المادة رقم (4) – فقرة رقم (2)- العدد 2741 لسنة 2006- السنة التاسعة والخمسون- صفحة رقم 68
2) الجريدة الرسمية- قانون رقم (19) – الباب الثالث – المادة رقم (42) – فقرة (ج)- العدد 2741 لسنة 2006- السنة التاسعة والخمسون- صفحة رقم 84
3) النسب مأخوذة من بيانات مسح المنشآت- مسح المنشآت – الجهاز المركزي للمعلومات/ هيئة تنظيم سوق العمل – مارس 2006.

 

آخر تحديث: 14-05-2017